Committee on Animal Research and Ethics (CARE)

The charge of the Committee on Animal Research and Ethics is:

  1. To safeguard responsible research with animals, other than humans, and to establish and maintain cooperative relations with organizations sharing common interests.

  2. To disseminate in cooperation with other organizations accurate information about such research.

  3. To review the ethics of such research and recommend guidelines for its ethical conduct.

  4. To disseminate in cooperation with other organizations, guidelines for the protecting the welfare of animals, other than humans, that are used in research, teaching and practical applications and to consult on the implementation of these guidelines.

The committee consists of six members, two of whom are elected each year for a term of three years.

Staff Liaison

Sangeeta Panicker, PhD (email)


  • 2015 Chair: Kenneth J. Leising (2013-15)
    Texas Christian University
  • Allyson Bennett (2015-17)
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • John Capitanio (2014-16)
    University of California, Davis
  • Wendy J. Lynch (2013-15)
    University of Virginia
  • Mark Reilly (2014-16)
    Central Michigan University
  • James Rowlett (2015-17)
    University of Mississippi Medical Center

Related Resources

Annual Reports