APA Science Leadership: How Can We Meet Your Needs?

By Suzanne Wandersman

The members of the APA governance groups for science are on the lookout for new opportunities for psychological science.  Below is a list of the current memberships and brief mission statements for each group.  Scientists are invited to contact any of these members to learn more about their work and to share suggestions for activities that APA may pursue in support of psychological science.

Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA)

Leona S. Aiken, Co-Chair  
    Arizona State University (2008-10)

Jennifer Manly, Co-Chair 
    Columbia University (2008-10)

Robert L. Balster   
    Virginia Commonwealth University (2009-11)

M. Lynne Cooper
    University of Missouri (2010-12)

Robyn Fivush,  
    Emory University (2010-12)

Vickie M. Mays  
    University of California, Los Angeles (2008-10)

Nora S. Newcombe  
    Temple University (2009-11)

Eduardo Salas  
    University of Central Florida (2010-11)

Kenneth J. Sher   
    University of Missouri (2010-12)

The Board of Scientific Affairs has general concern for all aspects of psychology as a science, including the continued encouragement, development, and promotion of psychology as a science; scientific aspects of the program at the Annual Convention; and psychology's relations with other scientific bodies. It has particular responsibility for liaison with agencies giving financial support to scientific projects, for awards and honors in recognition of scientific achievement, and for seeking new ways in which the Association can assist scientific activities.

Committee on Animal Research and Ethics (CARE)

Jennifer Higa, Chair   
    University of Hawaii - Honolulu Community College (2010-12)

Barbara Kaminski   
    Johns Hopkins University (2009-11)

Theresa Jones 
    University of Texas (2008-10)

Scott Robinson   
    University of Iowa (2009-11)

Pamela Scott-Johnson
    Morgan State University (2010-12)

Eric P. Wiertelak   
    Macalester College (2008-2010)

The Committee on Animal Research and Ethics is responsible for safeguarding responsible research with animals, other than humans, disseminating accurate information about such research, reviewing the ethics of such research and recommending and disseminating guidelines for ethical conduct when involving animals other than humans in research, teaching, and practical applications.

Committee on Human Research (CHR)
(newly established in 2010)

Thomas E. Eissenberg   
    Virginia Commonwealth University

Celia B. Fisher  
    Fordham University

Miriam F. Kelty    
    Independent Consultant

Daniel C. Marson    
    University of Alabama

Barbara H. Stanley  
    Columbia University & New York State Psychiatric Institute

Mieke H. Verfaellie  
    Boston University & Boston VA Healthcare

Vivian Ota Wang

The Committee on Human Research aims to facilitate research with human participants that complies with prevailing ethical principles (e.g., Belmont Principles) and federal regulatory standards and policies, and to examine issues regarding the formulation and implementation of such principles and regulations. Its purview encompasses such topics as confidentiality, decisional capacity, diversity of research populations, research dissemination, cross-disciplinary standards, international collaborations, and resource and data sharing.  

Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA)

Marcia M. Andberg, Chair  
    Marcia Andberg Associates, LLC (2010-12)

Ron K. Hambleton   
    University of Massachusetts (2008-10)

Robert Heaton   
    University of California at San Diego (2009-11)

Jerry Kehoe  
    Selection & Assessment Consulting, LLC (2009-11)

Michael J. Kolen  
    University of Iowa (2010-12)

Bernice Marcopulos  
    University of Virginia Health Science Center (2010-12)

Robert J. McCaffrey   
    Albany Neuropsychological Assoc. (2008-10)

Samuel O. Ortiz   
    St. Johns University (2009-10)

Beverly Vandiver  
    Pennsylvania State University, (2009-11)

The Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA) is responsible for addressing problems regarding sound psychological testing and assessment practices.  Members of CPTA serve as technical advisors to other APA boards and committees on all issues affecting testing and assessment as it involves policy, practice, and science; monitoring actions of government and other organizations concerning regulation and control of assessment and testing practices; maintaining knowledge of and concern regarding current policy issues on the use of tests and assessment in clinical, counseling, educational, and employment settings; and promoting the appropriate use of tests and sound assessment practices. 

Ad Hoc Science Student Council (APASSC)

Gabriel Lazaro-Munoz, Chair   
    New York University, (2009-2011)

Abby Adler   
    Ohio State University, (2008-2010)

Azurii Collier  
    Northwestern University, (2009-2011)

Nisha Gottfredson   
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, (2009-2011)

Lisa Jaremka  
   University of California, Santa Barbara (2008 – 2010)

Stanley King 
    University of Virginia, (2008-2010)

Gloria Luong 
    University of California, Irvine, (2008-2010)

Tara Queen 
    North Carolina State University, (2009-2011)

Winny Shen   
    University of Minnesota, (2009-2011)

The APA Science Student Council represents the interests and concerns of graduate students in psychological science.  The Council is broadly representative of the discipline.  It provides advice to BSA and the Directorate on programs and activities that would be of benefit to graduate students.  It arranges APA Convention programming of interest to science-oriented students, and works closely with APAGS on a variety of projects.  It selects recipients for the APASSC Early Researcher Awards. 

Committee on Scientific Awards (COSA)

Monica R. Biernat, Chair 
    University of Kansas (2008-10)

Marvin Chun  
    Yale University (2009-11)

Michael Davis   
    Emory University (2008-10)

Jill Hooley   
    Harvard University (2010-12)

David Lubinski 
    Vanderbilt University (2010-11)

Robert Siegler   
    Carnegie Mellon University (2010-12)

The Committee on Scientific Awards selects individuals to receive the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, the Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Psychology, and the Distinguished Scientific Award for an Early Career Contribution to Psychology.