APA Award for Excellence in Librarianship

Time is growing short! Nominate a librarian who has gone that extra mile for you for the APA Excellence in Librarianship Award.

5th Annual Excellence in Librarianship Award

APAs Excellence in Librarianship Award was created to recognize an outstanding contribution to psychology and behavioral sciences librarianship. The award includes a $2,500 check and an inscribed plaque, which will be presented at the EBSS Forum at the American Library Association Annual Conference in New Orleans in June 2011.

Who Is Eligible?

This award is open to both librarians and allied professionals who have demonstrated significant achievement in librarianship in psychology or the behavioral sciences.

Examples of achievement may include one or more of the following: instruction, project development, publications, research, or service. APA employees are not eligible.

Who Can Nominate?

Individuals may nominate themselves or others. Nominations will be accepted from library users, students, faculty, library colleagues, or others with knowledge of the nominee's achievement.

Nomination Procedure and Timeline

Please submit the following electronically by April 11, 2011:

  • Nomination statement (describe the contribution and its significance within and outside of the institution); a current curriculum vitae; and optional supporting documentation may be included with nomination (digital copies or URL's leading to online documentation)
  • Letters of support (no more than three; at least one letter from a direct beneficiary of the services provided by the nominee is strongly encouraged)
  • Contact information for the nominee

Submissions are being accepted by e-mail at APA Excellence in Librarianship Award.

Applications will be kept in the award pool for three years. Applications may be updated each year, as long as they are received by the award deadline.

Selecting the Recipient

The recipient will be selected by a committee of peers and be notified in May 2011.

Please direct questions to APA Excellence in Librarianship Award.