Leadership and Governance

Katherine C. Nordal, PhD

Board of Professional Affairs (BPA)

The Board of Professional Affairs is responsible for recommending and implementing APA policy, standards and guidelines for the profession of psychology, maintaining relationships with other professional organizations and groups appropriate to its mission, recognizing contributions to the profession of psychology through awards and honors, proposing to the association ways to enhance the profession of psychology and fostering the application of psychological knowledge to promote public welfare. Members of the Board of Professional Affairs are elected to represent the range of interests characteristic of the profession of psychology.


  • 2015 Chair: Patricia Arredondo, EdD (2013-15)

  • Celiane Rey-Casserly, PhD (2014-16)

  • Timothy A. Cavell, PhD (2015-17) 

  • Helen L. Coons, PhD, ABPP (2013-15)

  • Robert T. Kinscherff, PhD, JD (2015-17)

  • Vickie M. Mays, PhD, MSPH (2013-15)

  • Linda A. Reddy, PhD (2014-16)

  • Jared L. Skillings, PhD, ABPP (2015-17)

  • Antonette M. Zeiss, PhD (2014-16)

Staff Liaison

Mary G. Hardiman, MS (email)
(202) 336-5881

Committees Reporting

Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice (CAPP)

The Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice (CAPP) exercises general governance supervision over the relevant affairs of the Practice Directorate. CAPP recommends procedures and identifies projects that enhance human welfare through the professional practice of psychology. Groups reporting to CAPP include the Committee on Rural Health, the Committee of State Leaders, and the Task Force on Serious Mental Illness and Serious Emotional Disturbance. In addition, CAPP exercises general governance supervision in the management of the 501 (c)(6) APA Practice Organization.


  • 2014 Chair: Monica Kurylo, PhD (2013-15)
    Kansas University Medical Center, Kansas City, Kan.

  • 2014 Vice-chair: Kathleen S. Brown, PhD (2012-14) 

  • Lindsey Buckman, PsyD (2014-16)

  • June W. J. Ching, PhD (2012-14)

  • Arthur Evans, PhD (2014-15)

  • Terry S. Gock, PhD (2013-15)

  • Jo Linder-Crow, PhD (2014-15)

  • Angela M. Londoño-McConnell, PhD (2013-15)

  • Bonnie Markham, PhD, PsyD (Ex officio)

  • Peter M. Oppenheimer, PhD (2012-14)

  • Judith Patterson, PhD (2014-16)

  • Ruperto "Toti" M. Perez, PhD (2014-16)

Staff Liaison

Joan Freund (email)
(202) 336-5857

Committees Reporting

The APA Practice Directorate is committed to strong leadership and governance. In January 2009, we consolidated most of our governance functions within a new Governance Operations Department. This department supports several boards and committees that serve the professional practice community, including: Board of Professional Affairs; Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice; and Committee on Professional Practice and Standards. Also housed in practice are the Committee on Rural Health, the Task Force on SMI/SED and the Advisory Committee on Colleague Assistance. We encourage you to learn more about these groups and how to get involved.

Have you ever wondered how you might get involved in APA Practice Directorate governance activities? Involvement happens in various ways. For example, APA members are asked to provide their views and comments on issues like licensure and scope of practice as reflected in proposed association policy. In addition, members are encouraged to nominate themselves and/or their colleagues to serve on APA boards, committees, task forces and other groups. Annually in January, APA issues a formal call for nominations for members who wish to participate in association governance groups.

Are you interested in learning more about current opportunities to get involved? If so, please contact our Governance Operations Department.