2007 Members:  Nathan Grant Smith, PhD, Chair (2005-2007); Bianca D. M. Wilson, PhD, Chair-elect (2006-2008); Randall D. Ehrbar, PsyD (2006-2008); Patricia D. Hawkins, PhD (2005-2007); Alicia A. Lucksted, PhD (2007-2009); Perry N. Halkitis, PhD (2007-2009)

Members to begin their term of office on January 1, 2008 are Constance R. Matthews, PhD and Marvin R. Goldfried, PhD.

Diversity Report: Currently, the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns (CLGBTC) consists of equal representations of male-identified and female-identified members. Three members identify as lesbian, two as gay men, and one as bisexual. One member is transgender. Four committee members are European American; one member is Native American; one member identifies as a biracial Black American. 

The committee did not receive diversity training in 2007; however, the committee continued to identify underrepresented groups for which each committee member would advocate (e.g., one Committee member is responsible for advocating for persons with disabilities). Though all committee members expressed their desire to be inclusive of all groups, the tradition of assigning each member a specific group on which to focus helps to ensure that the Committee does not inadvertently ignore the needs and issues of underrepresented populations.

The committee developed a form that will be sent to all nominees to gather information about background and experience with a range of cultural diversity issues. Completion of the form will be voluntary for nominees. This form will help the committee to ensure adequate representation of diversity among its members. 

2007 CLGBTC Outstanding Achievement Award: This year the committee presented outstanding achievement awards to Arnold H. Grossman, PhD, LMSW, ACSW, and Gary William Harper, PhD, MPH.  Dr. Grossman was recognized for his work on developmental issues of lesbian, gay and bisexual individuals, particularly adolescents and aging individuals. In addition, he was recognized for his local, state and national advocacy and education efforts. Harper was recognized for his research on the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons of color, especially youth. He was also recognized for his outreach work to community non-profit organizations.

2007 Annual Convention Activities: Current and past members of CLGBTC presented a number of programs at the annual APA convention in San Francisco. Dr. Smith presented on the high school psychology lesson plan (see below for more details on this lesson plan) as part of a TOPSS-sponsored symposium on teaching diversity at the high school and university levels. Dr. Ehrbar chaired a symposium focusing on handling stress among practitioners working with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender clients. Past CLGBTC member Dr. Glenda Russell also presented in this symposium. Russell also presented as part of a roundtable discussion focusing on anti-gay politics. 

In addition to the above programs, Smith presented in the Division 44 hospitality suite. Smith, along with Dr. Christopher Martell, led a discussion on misuse of psychologists’ LGBT-focused research. Smith discussed misuse of research in the popular press and the reactions of those individuals whose research had been misrepresented. Martell discussed his experience of having his own research misused by anti-gay groups.

Inclusion of Gender Identity: The Council of Representatives approved the committee’s proposed change to its name and mission to include gender identity. The committee is now named the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns and includes transgender issues in its mission. 

High School Psychology Lesson Plan on Sexual Orientation: Together with TOPSS, CLGBTC has developed a lesson plan for high school psychology teachers focused on lesbian, gay and bisexual psychological issues. In addition to a content outline, which summarizes the research on salient issues in lesbian, gay and bisexual psychology, the lesson plan includes resources, teaching activities and suggestions for integrating the material into the larger high school psychology curriculum. The lesson plan should be published in early 2008.

Revisions to Answers to Your Questions about Sexual Orientation and Homosexuality: In cooperation with the Office on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns, members of CLGBTC have been working to revise the APA publication Answers to Your Questions about Sexual Orientation and Homosexuality. The revisions have been completed and the brochure will be published in early 2008.

Revision of A Selected Bibliography of Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Concerns in Psychology: The Committee identified changes to make to the Selected Bibliography that included expanding the list of topics covered, while minimizing the number of references for each topic. After the topics were chosen, the Committee identified and solicited input from experts in each topic area. The Committee is currently consolidating expert responses and plans to publish the new Selected Bibliography in mid-2008.

Revision of the Guidelines for Psychotherapy with Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Clients: The CLGBTC and Division 44 Task Force for the revision of the Guidelines for Psychotherapy with Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Clients is currently working to update the Guidelines. The Task Force met once in 2007 and plans to convene two meetings in 2008; as such, the committee requested funds from the Board of Directors to support one of these meetings (the other meeting will be supported by Division 44). The Task Force identified March 2009 as a goal for completion of the final draft to be submitted to APA boards and committees.

Task Force on Appropriate Therapeutic Response to Sexual Orientation:  The committee solicited nominations for membership on the Task Force and, in cooperation with board member Dr. Douglas Haldeman, recommended that the following persons be appointed to the task force: Drs. Judith M. Glassgold (chair), Lee Beckstead, Jack Drescher, Beverly Greene, Robin Lin Miller, and Roger L. Worthington. The Board for the Advancement of Psychology in the Public Interest (BAPPI) approved the committee’s recommendations and APA President Dr. Sharon Stephens Brehm, in cooperation with the Board of Directors, appointed these individuals to the Task Force. The Task Force met twice in 2007, once in July and once in late November/early December. The Task Force plans to submit a report to the Board of Directors and to all boards and committees.

Bias-Free Language Working Group for the Revision of the APA Publication Manual: CLGBTC chair Smith was appointed to this working group and will collaborate with CLGBTC to revise the language regarding sexual orientation and gender identity and expression in the Publication Manual.