June 29, 2013

APA Announces Recipient of 2013 Excellence in Librarianship Award

WASHINGTON — At the American Library Association Annual Meeting in Chicago, the American Psychological Association announced that Stuart Moss, MLS, is the recipient of APA’s 2013 Excellence in Librarianship Award for his significant contributions to psychology and behavioral sciences librarianship.

Stuart has been library director at the Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research (NKI) in Orangeburg, N.Y., since emerging from Rutgers as a freshly minted librarian in 1995. In addition, since 2010 he has been a research assistant professor in the New York University School of Medicine, Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. He has served as a leader within professional organizations, published and developed a Family Resource Center for families in the surrounding community affected by mental illness and brain diseases. Stuart has been at the helm during trying budgetary times, doing ever more with fewer resources and less staff, wowing his colleagues, staff at neighboring Rockland Psychiatric Center, members of the community and librarians with whom he’s worked on the Southeastern New York Library Resources Council (SENYLRC), the Association of Mental Health Librarians (AMHL) and the Medical Library Association. Through it all, he has been, according to one of his nomination statements, “a staunch and effective advocate for library service in support of the scientific endeavor.” 

Stuart was nominated by the researchers he serves. Picking among the wealth of plaudits, he is described as “a nexus for the research that is done at NKI” and credited with transforming an “outdated, poorly organized library… into a modern library that provides an array of electronic services.” Stuart attributes his success at the job in part to his ongoing interest in and curiosity about the subjects he deals with. 

APA's Excellence in Librarianship Award was created to recognize significant contributions or research within psychology and behavioral sciences librarianship. The award, which consists of $2,500 and a commemorating plaque, was presented to Stuart Moss on Saturday, June 29, 2013 at the EBSS Research Forum, during the American Library Association Annual Meeting in Chicago. 

The American Psychological Association, in Washington, D.C., is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA’s membership includes more than 134,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students. Through its divisions in 54 subfields of psychology and affiliations with 60 state, territorial and Canadian provincial associations, APA works to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people's lives.