Division Spotlight

Nominate Div. 15 fellows

Know a Div. 15 (Educational) member who has made an unusual and outstanding contribution to educational psychology? If so, nominate him or her for fellow status. Instructions for application are online. Submit nominations by Dec. 16 to selection committee co-chairs Cynthia Hudley, PhD and Adele Gottfried, PhD.

Positions open on Div. 17 board

Div. 17 (Society of Counseling Psychology) invites nominations of division members for its 2014 Executive Board elections. Open positions are president-elect, vice president for diversity and public interest, secretary and Council representative. Send nominations and recommendations to Andy Horne, PhD. For more news visit Div. 17.

Div. 18 wants your papers on violence prevention

Div. 18 (Psychologists in Public Service) is compiling a special edition of its journal Psychological Services on "The Prediction and Prevention of Violence in America." The journal welcomes empirical papers, meta-analytic/review papers and theory-based papers. The submissions deadline is Nov. 15. The journal's co-editors are Anne S. Klee, PhD, Lauren Lussier, PhD, and Philip Magaletta, PhD. For more information, contact Magaletta.

Apply now for the Div. 29 early career award

Div. 29 (Psychotherapy) seeks applications for the APF/Div. 29 Early Career Award, a $2,500 prize given in conjunction with the American Psychological Foundation to division members who have demonstrated early outstanding promise in the field of psychotherapy.

Nominees should be within seven years of earning their doctorates and have demonstrated accomplishment and achievement related to psychotherapy theory, practice, research or training. Nomination materials should include a letter written by a colleague outlining the nominee's career contributions and a curriculum vitae. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Submit a completed application online by Jan. 1. For more information, contact APF Program Officer Samantha Edington.

Div. 31 adds a student member to its board

The Board of Directors of Div. 31 (State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs) will add an elected voting student member who serves a three-year term. Members voted on the bylaws change in September. For information on running for the student board member position, contact Div. 31 President Sallie Hildebrandt, PhD.

Div. 34 congratulates new fellows

Div. 34 (Society for Environmental, Population and Conservation Psychology) named two new fellows at APA's 2013 Annual Convention: Thomas Doherty, PhD, and Sally Augustin, PhD. Doherty, Div. 34's president, runs a private psychology practice, co-directs the ecopsychology in counseling program at Lewis & Clark Graduate School in Portland, Ore., and was founding editor of the journal Ecopsychology. Augustin, the division's immediate past-president, is a principal at the firm Design With Science, where she applies research in environmental psychology to inform the design of homes, schools, hospitals and other work spaces.

Div. 39 announces new scholars program for 2014–15

Div. 39 (Psychoanalysis) is accepting applications for its Div. 39 Scholars Program. Graduate students and early career professionals in clinical psychology and related disciplines are eligible to apply for the 2014–15 year, which runs from April to April. Scholars receive $500 for travel expenses to the Div. 39 spring conference in New York City, April 23–27, and are matched with mentors who meet with them monthly for career advice. Scholars also get access to all Div. 39 publications and the Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing archive of psychoanalytic publications. Applications are due Jan. 10. For more information, including application instructions, contact Div. 39 President Frank Summers.

Police and Public Safety Psychology is now a specialty

The Police and Public Safety Section of Div. 18 (Psychologists in Public Service) announces that APA's Council of Representatives voted unanimously to recognize police and public safety psychology as a specialty in professional psychology during APA's 2013 Annual Convention in Honolulu. The section also has new officers: Ginger Hays, PhD, is chair, Casey Stewart, PhD, is chair-elect and Jay Supnick, PhD, is secretary-treasurer. For information on joining the section, contact Supnick.

Div. 27 announces its film contest winners

Div. 27 (Society for Community Research and Action) has named the 2013 winners of its annual video contest, which promotes film production as a way to showcase community psychology. The winners are:

Each video is available on YouTube. Information on the 2014 contest is available online. The application deadline is April 25.