American Psychological Foundation

Malloy wins first Diane Willis Early Career Award

APF has awarded Lindsay Malloy, PhD, of Florida International University, its first Diane J. Willis Early Career Award, which recognizes a talented young psychologist who is informing, advocating for and improving the mental health and well-being of children and families, particularly through policy. The $2,000 grant is presented by APF and APA's Div. 37 (Society for Child and Family Policy and Practice).

Malloy earned her PhD at the University of California, Irvine, in 2008 and did her postdoctoral training at the University of Cambridge. Her research addresses theoretical and practical questions concerning children's disclosure of negative experiences and children's involvement in the legal system. She has funding from the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and was named a "Rising Star" by the Association for Psychological Science.

The APF/Division 37 Diane J. Willis Early Career Award honors Willis's advocacy on behalf of children and families. Through her publications, clinical work, mentoring and teaching, Willis changed policy at the local, national and international levels.

For information on how to apply for the 2014 APF/Division 37 Diane J. Willis Early Career Award, please visit the APF website.

APF sends graduate students to Honolulu

APF awarded two $1,000 Paul E. Henkin Travel Grants to student members of APA Div. 16 (School) to attend APA's convention in Honolulu.

  • Jacqueline Caemmerer earned a master's degree in school psychology from Teachers College, Columbia University, and is pursuing her doctorate in the same field at the University of Texas at Austin.
  • Charity Griffin earned her BA in psychology from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and is a fifth-year graduate student in the school psychology doctoral program at the University of South Carolina.
  • APF awarded its Ungerleider/Zimbardo Travel Scholarships to six graduate students to present their research at APA's Annual Convention in Honolulu last month. The scholarships provide $300 toward convention travel. Here are this year's winners and the research they presented:
    • Rick Cruz, of the University of Washington, on the intersection of cultural and familial processes as they relate to child adjustment, and specifically to substance use development, among ethnic-minority youth.
    • Logan Fiorella, of the University of California, Santa Barbara, on how ideas related to embodied cognition can be applied to the design of instructional visuals.
    • Dylan Gee, of the University of California, Los Angeles, on the neurobiological systems supporting emotion regulation and social behavior in typical development and how these processes may be disrupted following early life stress and with risk for psychopathology, including schizophrenia.
    • Rachel Manes, of the City University of New York Graduate Center, on the link between childhood obesity and academic achievement in middle childhood and early adolescence.
    • Noreen Watson, of Texas Tech University, on social anxiety and smoking.
    • Darya Zabelina, of Northwestern University, on creative cognition and how emotions, attention and personality affect creativity.

Upcoming APF deadlines


For more information on APF's funding programs, please visit APF or contact Samantha Eddington, Program Officer, at (202) 336-5984.