• The University of Memphis honored Rosie Phillips Bingham, PhD, with its Arthur S. Holmon Lifetime Achievement Award. Bingham has been on the university’s faculty since 1985, becoming vice president for student affairs in 2003. She serves on APA’s Council of Representatives and is co-founder of Black Scholars Unlimited at the University of Memphis.

  • The University of Hawaii presented APA’s 2000 President Patrick DeLeon, PhD, JD, with its 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award. DeLeon retired in October as administrative assistant/ chief of staff to Sen. Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii) after 38 years of service. DeLeon has joined the university as a distinguished professor of uniformed healthcare policy and research, a joint appointment with the F. Edward Herbert School of Medicine and the Graduate School of Nursing.

  • The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust honored primarycare psychologist Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, with its 2011 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award. The $25,000 prize honors professors who inspire their students to make a difference in their communities. McDaniel, the Dr. Laurie Sands Distinguished Professor of Families and Health at the University of Rochester Medical Center, plans to donate her winnings to the department of family medicine to support annual awards for faculty for psychosocial medicine projects or conferences. Her special interests are in family medicine and collaboration between mental health specialists and primarycare practitioners.

    McDaniel serves on APA’s Board of Directors and Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice.

  • APA has hired Brett Pelham, PhD, as associate executive director for graduate education. Pelham is a social psychologist with expertise in social perception and research methods and served as a visiting senior scientist in the science directorate at APA in 2003 and 2004. He will be contributing to APA’s “Graduate Study in Psychology,” which is a detailed tour of the landscape of about 600 graduate-degree programs in psychology in the United States and Canada.

—C. Bockhaus


Early career movers and shakers

APA’s Committee on Early Career Psychologists has elected three new members, who will serve from 2012–14. They are:

  • Kyle Lynn Gobrogge, PhD, divisions representative.
  • Katherine Hahn, PhD, science representative.
  • Shawn McClintock, PhD, governance and membership representative.

In addition, 15 early career psychologists attended APA’s State Leadership Conference in March with the support from APA and their state, provincial and territorial psychological associations. They are:

  • Adam H. Benton, PhD, Sherwood, Ark.
  • Jennifer Cimpl Bohn, PsyD, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Brittany E. Canady, PhD, Norfolk, Va.
  • J. Oni Dhakari, PhD, Moorestown, N.J.
  • Alison Dunton, PsyD, Ellicott City, Md.
  • Colin F. Ennis, PsyD, Chicago.
  • Aaron A. Harris, PhD, Wichita, Kans.
  • Laura Linebarger, PsyD, Louisville, Ky.
  • Jon Marrelli, PsyD, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Richard P. Martielli, PhD, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Zoë Proctor-Weber, PsyD, PhD, Tampa, Fla.
  • Edith Esther Saville, PhD, Cody, Wyo.
  • Joshua Shuman, PsyD, Dayton, Ohio.
  • Kristin R. Tubré, PsyD, Montgomery, Ala.
  • Wendy L. Vincent, PsyD, Newton, Mass.