American Psychological Foundation

Welcome new APF trustees

The American Psychological Foundation has appointed four new honorary trustees:

  • Brian Baird, PhD, who served for 12 years in the U.S. House of Representatives for Washington state, where he focused on science and technology, energy, health and mental health care, oceans, foreign policy, fiscal discipline and congressional integrity.
  • Mathilda “Matty” Canter, PhD, an Arizona practitioner since 1966 and staunch APF supporter and fundraiser. She has served on APA’s Board of Directors and was the first female president of Div. 29 (Psychotherapy) in 1983. She has chaired APA’s Policy and Planning Board and Ethics Committee, as well as the subcommittee that developed the 1992 Ethics Code.
  • David Myers, PhD, a professor of psychology at Hope College in Holland, Mich., who is well known for writing about psychological science for the general public. Myers has published popular press articles about psychology in four dozen publications, including Scientific American and The Chronicle of Higher Education.
  • W. Bruce Walsh, PhD, professor emeritus in the department of psychology at The Ohio State University. He is founder and charter editor of both the Journal of Career Assessment and the Biennial Review of Counseling Psychology. In 1998, Walsh served as president of Div. 17 (Society of Counseling Psychology) and from 1990 to 2002, he directed training for Ohio State’s counseling psychology program.  
APF honors eating disorders researcher

The American Psychological Foundation awarded Cortney Warren, PhD, the 2011 Theodore Blau Early Career Award for her clinical research on how sociocultural factors affect the development and perpetuation of eating disorders. Warren, an assistant professor in the department of psychology at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, earned her doctorate in clinical psychology from Texas A&M University.

The Theodore Blau Early Career Award honors a clinical psychologist for early accomplishments in clinical psychology such as: professional service; innovation in service delivery; novel application of research to professional practice; and improving health delivery.

An innovative approach to personality research

Social psychologist Robert M. Sellers, PhD, of the University of Michigan, has won the 2011 Theodore Millon Award in Personality Psychology for blending personality and social psychology ideas and methodologies in his research on ethnicity, athletic participation, and health among African-Americans and college athletes.

Sellers is associate chair of the department of psychology and adjunct professor in the School of Education.

The Millon Award honors an outstanding psychologist who is advancing the science of personality psychology.

Upcoming deadlines

June 2011

For more information about APF’s funding programs, visit the American Psychological Foundation.