American Psychological Foundation

APF funds child resilience and coping research

When children witness violence at home, the effects can last a lifetime. For dedicating her research to understanding these children, APF conferred the 2010 Annette Urso Rickel Dissertation Award to Kathryn Howell, a clinical psychology doctoral student at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

The award supports dissertation research on public policy that has the potential to improve services for children and families facing psychosocial issues. Howell is examining resilience and coping mechanisms in preschool-age children exposed to intimate partner violence. She hopes her research can identify ways to enhance community services for these at-risk children and help eradicate some of the negative outcomes associated with their exposure to violence.

In addition to presenting research at national and international conferences, Howell has co-authored a chapter on resiliency, risk and protective factors in Resiliency, Protective, and Risk Factors (Sage Publications Inc., 2008). She has also published results of a study assessing traumatic events and stress symptoms in preschool-age children from low income families in the American Journal of Orthopsychiatry (Vol. 78, No. 2).

The award is made possible by Annette Rickel, PhD, a psychotherapist who has worked with children and families throughout her career. Rickel is on the faculty of Cornell Medical College and has held visiting professor appointments at Princeton University and Columbia University. She is the president of The Annette Urso Rickel Foundation Inc., which provides opportunities for individuals to realize their potential as math and science teachers. She has published eight books and numerous articles in scientific journals.

Apply for an APA convention travel scholarship

The APF Ungerleider/Zimbardo Travel Scholarships help psychology graduate students travel to APA’s Annual Convention. In 2010, seven students presenting research at APA’s convention in San Diego, Aug. 12–15 will receive $300 scholarships to support their travel. The APA Science Directorate administers the grants. Apply by April 1. For eligibility requirements and more information, visit APF Ungerleider/Zimbardo Travel Scholarships.

Neuropsychology students: This grant is for you

APF seeks applications for two $2,500 Benton-Meier Scholarships in neuropsychology. Applicants must show a record of achievement that will lead to promising careers. Apply by June 1. For more information, visit APF Funding.

APF grant aims to help prevent violence

APF is accepting applications for the 2010 Violence Prevention and Intervention Grant. The foundation will award one grant of up to $20,000 for projects that support work designed to increase the understanding of violent behavior and the means for preventing or ameliorating it. Intervention projects or research must be replicable, serve as models for future work or clearly add to the existing knowledge base beyond the site where they were executed. Apply by June 1. For application information, visit APF Funding.

Graduate research scholarships available

APF is accepting applications for the 2010 APF/Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology graduate research scholarships. Scholarships include the:

  • $5,000 Harry and Miriam Levinson Scholarship.

  • $3,000 Ruth G. and Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship.

  • $2,000 Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship.

In addition, APF will grant 10 $1,000 scholarships. Apply by June 15. For more information, visit APF Funding.

Grant defrays costs to attend APA’s convention

The APF Paul E. Henkin Travel Grant provides support of up to $1,000 to defer the costs of registration, lodging and travel for APA Div. 16 (School) student members attending APA’s Annual Convention in San Diego, Aug. 12–15. Applicants should submit an application, a letter of recommendation, a 500-word essay and a curriculum vitae online at APF Grants. The application deadline is April 15.

—J. Clark

Upcoming APF deadlines


  • Counseling Psychology Grants: April 1

  • Ungerleider/Zimbardo Travel Scholarships: April 1

  • Alexander Gralnick Research Investigator Prize: April 15

  • Paul Henkin School Psychology Travel Award: April 15


  • Timothy Jeffrey Memorial Award: May 1

  • Pre-college Psychology Grant: May 1

  • Violet and Cyril Franks Scholarship: May 15


  • Benton-Meier Scholarships: June 1

  • F.J. McGuigan Dissertation Award: June 1

  • Robert Fantz Award: June 1

  • Joseph B. Gittler Award: June 1

  • Violence Prevention and Intervention Grant: June 1

  • APF/COGDOP Scholarships: June 15

For more information about APF’s funding programs, visit APF or contact Kim Palmer Rowsome by e-mail or (202) 336-5622.