American Psychological Foundation

APF awards neuropsychology grants to two students

APF awarded doctoral students Erin Morgan and Katie Bangen — both graduate students in the joint clinical psychology program at San Diego State University and the University of California, San Diego — with $2,500 Benton-Meier Neuropsychology grants.

Morgan's grant will help further her work on the neurological and psychological aspects of HIV infection, such as genetic risk factors for HIV-associated impairment.

Bangen's grant is for research that uses neuropsychological tests and brain imaging to compare the way the brain ages in normal people with those at risk for Alzheimer's disease.

Apply for an APF travel grant

The Frances M. Culbertson Travel grant supports women from developing countries in the early stages of their careers by providing up to $1,500 in travel funds to attend international or regional psychology conferences. Recipients of the grant also receive a two-year affiliate APA membership.

Applicants must be women from developing countries, as defined by the World Bank, who are five to 10 years post doctoral degree. The deadline is Feb. 15. For more information, visit

Apply for a $25,000 award for young investigators

APF seeks nominations for its $25,000 McGuigan Prize, a biennial award given to an early career psychologist who is engaged in research that seeks to explain how the mind affects psychological and physiological health. The approach must be materialistic, using both empirical and theoretical research and must present a realistic model supported by theory and data.

Nominees must have received doctoral degrees in psychology or related fields within nine years and must be affiliated with an accredited institution. The application deadline is March 1. For more information, visit

Apply for family processes grant

APF seeks applications for the Randy Gerson Memorial Grant, which advances systematic understanding of couple, family dynamics or multigenerational processes. Projects that address theory, assessment or clinical practice will receive preference. Priority will also be given to projects that contribute to Bowen family systems or advance Randy Gerson's work. Applicants must be psychology graduate students full time at an accredited university with anticipated degree dates after the 2010–11 academic year. Applications are due Feb. 1. For more information, visit

13 graduate students receive psychology grants

APF and the Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology awarded grants to 13 students for outstanding work:

  • Peggy M. Zoccola, a health psychology student at the University of California, received the first annual $5,000 Harry and Miriam Levinson Scholarship for her proposal, “Prolonging the physiological stress response: The role of rumination and recall.” Her research will investigate how mentally replaying an experience influences health. She will measure physiological stress levels during recall of a stressful event or topic to better understand its effect on long-term health.

  • Joshua M. Carp received the $3,000 Ruth G. and Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship for his proposal “Visual declines across the lifespan: Representational and computational mechanisms.” Carp, a cognitive neuroscience student at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, will investigate the role age plays in processing basic visual features, such as the edge of a table and fine-grained features.

  • Saul L. Miller, a social and evolutionary psychology student at Florida State University, received the $2,000 Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship for his proposal “Affiliative responses across the menstrual cycle.” His research investigates how women's need for friendship and social support may shift in response to hormonal changes.

Ten students received $1,000 APF/Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology Graduate Research Scholarships in Psychology. They are Meghan W. Cody, University of Virginia; Christine A. Conelea, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Katie M. Edwards, Ohio University; Karim Kassam, Harvard University; Jennifer C.G. Larson, University of Utah; Meghan R. Miller, University of California, Berkeley; John J. Panos, Western Michigan University; Edward A. Selby, Florida State University; Michael T. Treadway, Vanderbilt University; Xiaomeng Xu, Stony Brook University.

—J. Clark

Upcoming APF deadlines


  • Randy Gerson Memorial Grant: Feb. 1

  • Henry David Research and Travel Grants: Feb. 15


  • F.J. McGuigan Young Investigator Prize: March 1

  • Wayne F. Placek Grants: March 1

  • Esther Katz Rosen Fellowships: March 1

  • Visionary Funds Grant Program: March 15

For more information about APF's funding programs, visit or contact Kim Palmer Rowsome by e-mail or (202) 336-5622.