2014 Board of Directors Election Results

The 2014 Board of Directors ballot was sent to members of the 2013 Council of Representatives on July 1. The election closed July 31. Following are those elected.

Richard M. McGraw, PhD

Richard M. McGraw, PhDRichard M. McGraw, PhD, grew up in a military family living primarily in Texas and spent his early adolescence living in what was then West Germany. He earned his baccalaureate (magna cum laude) degree in psychology, his master's degree in general-experimental psychology as well as his PhD in clinical psychology with a cognitive behavior therapy specialty from the University of North Texas. Following his undergraduate education he worked in facilities for the developmentally disabled, and later, after receiving his master's degree, in a medical rehabilitation facility. He completed his predoctoral internship at the Wichita Collaborative Internship Program with placements at the Robert J. Dole VA Medical Center and the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita. McGraw received a U.S. Air Force Health Professions Scholarship to complete his doctoral degree and then served as a military psychologist for five years holding a top secret/special access security clearance required for his assignment as chief of psychological services in a military medical facility serving primarily intelligence community personnel. Since that time he has been a rural practitioner with both an outpatient office and an inpatient medical-surgical health facility consultation practice focus, including inpatient physical rehabilitation. McGraw has also served on the Shannon West Texas Regional Medical Center's Ethics Committee for 15 years. Additionally, he and his life partner, Lee Lynn Morrison-McGraw, PhD, direct a geropsychological group practice with providers in four major cities in West Texas.

McGraw has served on the executive board of the Texas Psychological Association for nearly 20 years in both official and ex officio capacities, including as president of the association. He served as chair of the TPA Social Justice Division and chair of the TPA Integrated Health Care Task Force. He has represented TPA on APA's Council of Representatives, and served as an APA federal advocacy officer and rural health coordinator. He has received the TPA Psychologist of the Year Award and is a recipient of the Karl F. Heiser APA Presidential Award for Advocacy. McGraw also has served as chair of the APA Committee on Rural Health and as a member of the steering committee of the APA Business of Practice Network. His professional mission includes increasing the relevance of the profession in society; ensuring the access of all members of society, especially the marginalized, to the benefits of psychological science, education and practice; and promoting the inclusion of the psychological perspective in bioethics.

Sandra L. Shullman, PhD

Sandra L. Shullman, PhDSandra L. Shullman, PhD, is a partner in the Executive Development Group LLC, an international leadership development and consulting firm. In this role, she directs large-scale executive coaching, executive education and leadership development projects for national and multinational client organizations. Shullman serves as a senior lecturer for the HEC School of Business in Paris, teaching EMBA leadership courses in Europe and Asia. She is also a member of the Duke University Corporate Education Academic Global Learning Network and lectured for more than 15 years for the John Glenn School of Public Management at The Ohio State University. She received the 2012 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award for Excellence in Education and Inspirational Leadership.

Shullman has served on the board of APA divisions 13, 17, 42 and 44 and was 1992 president of the Ohio Psychological Association. She has served as APA council representative for divisions 17 and 44 and OPA, and is the 2014 APA parliamentarian. She is a former chair of the Board of Professional Affairs, co-chair of the Council Work Group on Multicultural Guidelines and a former member of the APA Board of Directors. Shullman currently serves as board member of the American Psychological Foundation. Most recently, Shullman chaired the APA Good Governance Project, a strategic initiative designed to help APA ensure its governance structure is effectively aligned with the APA strategic plan. She received the 2012 APA Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Independent Practice.

With a focus on leadership development, Shullman is committed to leadership development for psychologists, serving as a founding faculty member and acting chair of the APA Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology, and faculty member for several divisional leadership development programs and academies. Her research and writing focus on leadership, ambiguity and uncertainty.