Psychologists in Public Service

Division 18: Psychologists in Public Service responds to the needs of the public in areas such as psychological practice, research, training and policy formation. The division is comprised of five sections representing a variety of settings: community and state hospital psychologists, criminal justice, police and public safety, psychologists in Indian Country and veterans affairs. The division and its sections provide a forum for its members to discuss common professional interests, to advocate for the mental health needs of the public and to promote the use of evaluation and research in public research programs. The newsletter Public Service Psychology is sent to members three times a year.



Femina Varghese, PhD, Conway, Ariz. 
View a list of past presidents


Mary L. Bushnell, PsyD, Tucson, Ariz.



Psychological Services (quarterly beginning in Spring 2004)
Editor: Patrick DeLeon, PhD, Bethesda, Md.


Public Service Psychology (three issues per year)
Co-Editors: Marcia Baruch, PhD, Mount Laurel, N.J. and Victor S. Wolski, PhD, HSPP, Rome, Ga.

Read about Division 18 in the Monitor

A home for Indian country psychologists
Prescription privileges, loan-repayment options and more visibility are among the priorities for an up-and-coming section of Div. 18.

Division Sections

  • Community and State Hospital
    Contact: Will Newbill, PsyD
  • Criminal Justice
    Contact: Sheila Brandt, PsyD
  • Police and Public Safety
    Contact: Ginger Hays, PhD
  • Psychologists in Indian Country
    Contact: Jacque Gray, PhD
  • Serious Mental Illness/Severe Emotional Disturbance
    Contact: Mary Jansen, PhD
  • Veterans Affairs
    Contact: Howard Steinberg, PhD

Division Meetings

Contact Information

Division 18 Administrative Office
Veronica Allen  
American Psychological Association
750 First St, NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242
Telephone: (202) 336-6121
Fax: (202) 218-3599