Nancy B. Forest and L. Michael Honaker Master’s Grant for Research in Psychology

This grant funds thesis research in the field of psychology at the master's level.

Deadline: May 6, 2015

Sponsor: APAGS

This $1,000 grant is named in honor of APA staff members for their unyielding support over the years in the formation, development and continued growth of APAGS. Nancy B. Forest was one of the first staff liaisons to APAGS and L. Michael Honaker, PhD, ensured that APAGS had the necessary resources to implement its important mission.

APAGS grants and awards are available to graduate student members of APAGS who are enrolled at least half-time as a student in good standing at a regionally accredited university. Students who join as a graduate student affiliate are members of APAGS; students who are members of APA as undergraduate student affiliates, associate member or other member status, must change their status to graduate student affiliate prior to applying for this grant/award.

Undergraduates are not eligible to apply for these grants/awards, nor are current or former APAGS Committee members, subcommittee chairs and task force chairs. In addition, former APAGS subcommittee members or ad hoc reviewers who have previously reviewed this grant are not eligible. Previous recipients of each grant/award are not eligible to apply again for a period of five years.

How to Apply

Each application must include all of the following materials:

  1. A cover letter (not to exceed two pages single-spaced) that includes background information about the applicant, the thesis, why the applicant believes s/he should be awarded the grant (e.g. relevance of the project to the grant) and the applicant’s future educational and professional goals.
  2. An abbreviated research proposal (not to exceed three pages single-spaced) that includes specific aims, background and significance, proposed research methodology, implications of proposed research and detailed budget.
  3. An abbreviated curriculum vitae (not to exceed two pages single-spaced).
  4. A letter of recommendation (not to exceed two pages single-spaced) supporting your application that addresses your qualifications, how your project will benefit the discipline and the likelihood that your research will help you meet your future educational and professional goals. All materials must be submitted for an application to be considered. Any applications that exceed the page limits (e.g. over two pages in a vita, over three pages for your proposal, or over two pages for a letter of recommendation) will not be scored.

Please submit each of these items as a separate PDF file. We will not accept Word documents. Letters of recommendation (if and only if stated as a requirement above) should also be in PDF form; however, we will accept both Word and PDF versions of the letter of recommendation only.


Please note the online system will close at 11:59 p.m. (ET) on the day of the deadline; all application materials must be submitted at that time. No mail submissions will be accepted. If you are not an APAGS member at the time of submission you may attach a copy of the receipt you get when you join APA/APAGS electronically as proof of your membership. Letters of recommendation may be submitted separately via email by the deadline. Submit your application online.

Please read this carefully: Approximately two months before an application is due, you will see this specific grant/award as a choice in the drop-down menu under “Grants” in the online submission form. Do not apply until the grant is listed in this menu as your application will not be accepted. Check back periodically if you are waiting for a chance to submit. The online system will close immediately on the due date and time. Late submissions will not be accepted. You will receive notification of your award decisions approximately two months after the due date.

Past Recipients

Ana Maria Gutierrez-Colina: University of Georgia


Anastacia Y. Kudinova: Binghamton University


Amy Heberle: University of Massachusetts, Boston


Shawn C.T. Jones: University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Jeffrey Hunger: California State University, Fullerton


Shawn Jones: University of North Carolina


Lauren Bylsma: University of South Florida


Alyson Zalta: University of Pennsylvania


Elizabeth J. Rahn: University of Georgia


Michael Morrow: University of Delaware


Courtney L. Beard: University of Georgia


David Bauer: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Shirley Wang: Yale University


Shoshana Y. Kahana: Case Western Reserve University


Liza Moscovice: University of Wisconsin-Madison


Kelly Davis: Drexel University