Theoretical Innovation Prize

This award recognizes a distinguished article or book chapter that provides innovative theoretical contribution to social and/or personality psychology.

Sponsor: Division 8


The SPSP Theoretical Innovation prize recognizes theoretical articles that are especially likely to generate the discovery of new hypotheses, new phenomena, or new ways of thinking about the discipline of social/personality psychology. Theoretical contributions may be judged innovative and generative even before they have accumulated substantial empirical support. Therefore an article may be judged worthy for the prize even if it runs the risk of empirical invalidation in the future. The emphasis of the prize is on a contribution's conceptual innovation and potential to motivate new research and further conceptual investigation, rather than on its current level of empirical support.

The prize recipient will receive a cash award of $750.

The prize committee does have the option of not awarding a prize.

How to Apply
Past Recipients