Jane S. Halonen Teaching Excellence Award

This award recognizes teaching excellence for early career practitioners.

Sponsor: Division 2


This award is made possible from donations to the Fund for Excellence in the Teaching of Psychology. The fund's assets are derived entirely from donations from generous individuals and organizations that seek to promote and recognize excellence in the teaching of psychology.

Note: This award was formerly named the Early Career Teaching Award.


You can find nomination criteria on Div. 2's website. Renominations and self-nominations are acceptable.

How to Apply

Submit materials via email:

Application Materials
  1. Cover sheet that includes:
    1. Nominee’s name, address, telephone number and email address.
    2. Category of award for which the person is nominated (e.g., 4-year college, 2-year college, high school).
    3. Nominator’s name, address, telephone number and email address.
    4. Name and address of who should be informed if the nominee wins the STP Teaching Award (e.g., department head, principal, supervisor).
  2. Current curriculum vitae that includes educational history of nominee, professional work history, membership in professional organizations, previous recognition or awards, publications, and participation in professional development activities or conferences (e.g., as presenter or attendee).
  3. Letters of recommendation from at least three (3), but not more than five (5), persons, each of whom can speak to the qualifications of the nominee in light of the appropriate criteria.
  4. Statement of teaching philosophy (a maximum of two double-spaced pages).
  5. Evidence to illustrate award criteria.
Past Recipients

Sadie Leder Elder, PhD


Stephanie E. Afful, PhD


Aaron S. Richmond, Metropolitan State College of Denver, Denver, Colo.


Karen Z. Naufel, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, Ga.


Debra Mashek, Harvey Mudd College, Calif.