SIOP Small Grant

The purpose of the SIOP Small Grant Program is to provide tangible support to SIOP members for research-related activities and foster cooperation between academicians and practitioners.

Sponsor: Division 14


The overreaching goal of the Small Grant Program is to provide funding for research investigating topics of interest to both academicians and practitioners. The Small Grant Program aims to provide support from SIOP to its members for research-related activities while fostering cooperation by supporting research that has the potential to advance both knowledge and practice in applied arrears of the interest to all members of the SIOP.

Each grant proposal will be reviewed by both academic and practitioner members of the subcommittee. The following criteria will be used to evaluate each proposal:

  • Significance:  Does the proposal address an important problem relevant to both the academic and practitioner membership of SIOP? Will the proposal advance knowledge and practice in a given area?

  • Appropriateness of budget:  Is there clear justification and rationale for the expenditure of the award monies? Can the proposed work be accomplished with the funds requested or is there evidence that additional expenses will be covered by other sources of funding?

  • Research approach: An assessment of the overall quality of the conceptual framework, design, methods, and planned analyses.

  • Innovation:  Does the proposed research employ novel concepts, approaches or methods? Does the proposal research have original and innovative aims?

  • Aimed at a wide audience:  The proposal should be clear, understandable, and communicable to a wide audience and have implications for all members of SIOP (academics and practitioners).

  • Realistic timeframe: Likelihood that the project can be completed within 1 year of award date.

  • Academic–practitioner partnership: Does the grant involve a partnership between an academic and a practitioner?

The SIOP Foundation determines its available funding amounts annually. Although there is no minimum amount per grant proposal, the maximum award for any one grant is $7,500.


The principal investigator of the project must be a SIOP Member or Student Affiliate.

Proposals submitted with a Student Affiliate as the principal investigator should include a letter of endorsement from a SIOP Member, preferably the student’s academic advisor.

In order to encourage wide participation and a large variety of individuals and institutions involved in the program, an individual can only be involved in one proposal per review cycle. In addition, individuals who received a grant within the last 2 years are ineligible.

Guidelines for Proposal Budgets

It is the explicit policy of the SIOP Small Grant Program that grant funds may not be used for overhead or indirect costs.

In the committees’ experience, most universities will waive overhead and indirect costs under two circumstances:

  1. The grant is relatively modest in size, and/or

  2. The awarding institution (i.e., SIOP) does not allow it.

If the above statement disallowing funds to be used for overhead is insufficient, the chair of the Small Grants Subcommittee will provide additional documentation and evidence explicitly recognizing this policy.

The SIOP Small Grant award can be used in conjunction with other funding for a larger scale project. If this is the case, the proposal should describe the scope of the entire project, the entire budget, and the portion of the budget for which SIOP award money will be spent.


All grant award recipients will be required to deliver a final report to the SIOP Small Grant Subcommittee and the SIOP Foundation Committee within 1 year of the date of the award. Awardees should be aware that a synopsis of their research will be placed on the SIOP Web site. This synopsis will be of such a nature so as not to preclude subsequent publication of the research. It is strongly encouraged that the results of the research be submitted for presentation at the annual SIOP conference.

How to Apply

In order to ensure that there is a clear commitment of the organizational partner to the research, a letter recognizing this support is required.

Format of the Proposal

The proposal should adhere to accepted formatting guidelines (e.g., APA guidelines) and should include the following sections:

  • Abstract

  • Literature review and rationale for the project

  • Method—including information about the sample, measures, data collection strategies, and, analytical strategies

  • Implications for both academicians and practitioners

  • Budget and justification for expenditures of the award

The proposals should not exceed 10 pages of text (not including references, tables, appendices). The proposal should be double-spaced and use a 12-point font and 1 inch margins. The proposal must be a single document, either a Word document or a .pdf file, named to indicate the first author, as follows: lastname.doc or lastname.pdf.

All awarded authors will need to certify, by signature or other means, that the research will be carried out in compliance with ethical standards with regard to the treatment of human subjects (e.g., institutional review board or signed statement that the research adhered to the accepted professional standards regarding the treatment of human subjects).

Submission Deadlines and Procedure

Proposals should be submitted in electronic form.

Past Recipients


Dan Ispas, Alexandra Ilie, Russell E. Johnson, Dragos Iliescu; Eva Derous, Annemarie M.F. Hiemstra, Marise Ph. Born; Autumn D. Krauss, Donald M. Truxillo, Talya N. Bauer; Michael A. Daniels, Jennifer Gillespie, Cheryl J. Conley, Lynn Ritter, Salli J. Bollin


Deniz Ones, Stephan Dilchert, & Andy Biga; Gary Burns, Lindsey Kotrba, & Ryan Smerek; Eliza Wicher, Laura Byars, Pamela Koseck, & Victoria Jones


Lisa Finkelstein, Kurt Kraiger, & Jerry Wittmer; Nathan Bowling, Jeffery Labrador, & John McKee


Tracy Rizzuto & Julio Silva; Eva DeRous & Ann Marie Ryan; Aaron Schmidt, Michael Gillespie, & Linsey Korba; Jinyan Fan & Felix Lopez


Ann H. Huffman, Ashlee Jenson, & Sartoris S. Youngcourt; David M. LaHuis & John M. Avis; Sally A. Carless, Paul J. Taylor, Elizabeth Allworth, & Dave Bartram


Ashley M. Guidroz, Jennider Z. Gillespie, & Elizabeth Reed; Sheng (Monica) Wang; Robert E. Ployhart, Jeff Weekley, & Filip Lievens


Steffanie Wilk & Nancy Rothbard; Michael Horvath; Sandy J. Wayne & Monica Gavino


Jeffrey Stanton, Paul Mastrangelo, Kathryn Stam, and Slawomir Marcinkowski


Jennifer Carr and S. David Kriska; Frederick L. Oswald, Patrick D. Converse, Michael A. Gillespie, Kevin A. Field, Elizabeth B. Bizot, Bill Tirre, and Peg Hendershot