M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace

This award recognizes a project or product representing an outstanding example of the practice of industrial and organizational psychology in the workplace.

Sponsor: Division 14


The M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace is given to an individual practitioner or team of practitioners who have developed and conducted/applied a specific project or product representing an example of outstanding practice of I-O psychology in the workplace (i.e., business, industry, government).

Nominee’s will be considered for this award based on the following criteria:

  • A sound technical/scientific basis

  • Advancing objectives of clients/users

  • Promoting full use of human potential

  • Complying with applicable psychological, legal, and ethical standards

  • Improving the acceptance of I-O psychology in the workplace

  • Showing innovation and excellence

The award recipient(s) will receive a plaque commemorating the achievement, a cash prize of $1,500 and an invitation to make a presentation at the annual conference of SIOP.  Team awards will be shared among the members of the team.  


Nominations may be submitted by any member of SIOP. Individuals or teams may be nominated.

Each individual nominee must be a current member of the Society. If a team is nominated, at least one of the team members must be a current member of the Society, and each team member must have made a significant contribution to the project or product.

Self-nominations are welcome.

Projects must have been conducted in the workplace within the last 40 years and cover a time period of no more than 8 years.

Products (e.g., tests, questionnaires, videos, software, but not books or articles) must be used in the workplace and developed within the last 40 years.

Projects or products may be in any area of I-O psychology (e.g., compensation, employee relations, equal employment opportunity, human factors, job analysis, job design, organizational development, organizational behavior, leadership, position classification, safety, selection, training).

How to Apply

Nominations should include:

  • A letter of nomination which explains hoe the project or product meets all of the evaluation criteria

  • A technical report which describes the project or product in detail. NOTE: This may be an existing report

  • A description of any formal complaints of legal or ethical nature which have been made regarding the project or product

  • A list of three client references who may be contacted by the Myers Award Subcommittee regarding the project

  • OPTIONAL: Up to 6 additional documents that may help in evaluation the nomination

Submit nominations electronically.

Past Recipients

Janis A. Cannon-Bowers, PhD; Danielle C. Merket; Dana Milanovich Costar; Stephanie C. Payne, PhD; Eduardo Salas, PhD; Alicia D Sanchez, PhD; Kimberly A. Smith-Jentsch, PhD


Walter C. Borman, Janis S. Houston, Tracy M. Kantrowitz, Richard A. McLellan, Robert J. Schneider


Eduardo Salas, Katherine Wilson, Michael Rosen


George Alliger, Winston Bennett, Charles Colegrove, Rebecca Beard, Michael Garrity


David Baker, Eduardo Salas, Alexander Alonso, Rachel Day, Amy Holtzman, Laura Steighner, Catherine Porter, Heidi King, James Battles, Paul Barach


Elizabeth B. Kolmstetter, Ann M. Quigley, Deborah Gebhardt, James C. Sharf, Todd Baker, Joanna G. Lange


Robert J. House, Paul J. Hanges, Mansour Javidan, Peter W. Dorman, Vipin Gupta, Mary Sully de Luque


Elaine D. Pulakos, Sharon Arad, Wally C. Borman, David W. Dorsey, Rose Mueller-Hanson, Neal W. Schmitt, Susan S. White


Award withheld


Norman G. Peterson, Michael D. Mumford, Walter C. Borman, P. Richard Jeanneret, Edwin A. Fleishman


Eduardo Salas, Janice A. Cannon-Bowers, Joan H. Johnston, Kimberly A. Smith-Jentsch, Carol Paris


HumRRO, PDRI, RGI, Caliber, FAA


Chris Hornick, Kathryn Fox, Ted Axton, Beverly Wyatt, Therese Revitte


Frank L. Landy, James L. Farr, Edwin Fleishman, Robert J. Vance