Distinguished Teaching Contributions Award

This award recognizes a SIOP member who demonstrates a sustained excellence in teaching.

Sponsor: Division 14


The Distinguished Teaching Contribution Award is given to an individual who has sustained experience in a full-time university/college tenure-track or tenured position(s) requiring substantial teaching responsibilities.

It is given in recognition of SIOP members who demonstrate a sustained record of excellence in teaching, as revealed by excellence in the classroom or via Web-based teaching, student development, and community service via teaching.

Nominees are considered for this award based on the following criteria:

  1. Demonstration of excellence in teaching. 

    Evidence for this might include course syllabi, lesson outlines, a statement of teaching philosophy, some form of student evaluation criteria (e.g., ratings) or receiving an award for teaching, examples of innovative methods in the design and delivery of course content, a summary of courses taught within the last 3 years (include title and short description of course, along with number of students enrolled), descriptions of textbooks written, course handouts, letters from supervisor(s) or colleagues, and up to three letters of support from students.

  2. Demonstration of student accomplishments.

    Evidence for this would include papers or projects completed by students, students presenting papers at professional meetings or students subsequently publishing their work done with the teacher, stimulation of student research, awards or grants received by students, students pursuing further graduate work, successful placement of students in jobs or graduate programs, careers or internships achieved by students, and other student-oriented activities (e.g., undergraduate student accomplishments will be highly valued).

  3. Demonstration of excellence in teaching-related professional activities.

    Evidence for this might include publications of articles on teaching, memberships in teaching organizations, teaching awards and other forms of prior recognition, community presentations about topics related to industrial and organizational psychology, and attendance at professional meetings or workshops relevant to teaching.

The recipient of the award is given a plaque and a cash prize of $1,500. In addition, the recipient is invited to give an address that relates to his or her contribution at the subsequent meeting of SIOP.


Nominations may be submitted by any member of SIOP, the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, or by any person who is sponsored by a member of one of these organizations. Self-nominations are welcome.

Only members of SIOP may be nominated for the award.

There is no restriction on the specific courses taught, only that the courses concern perspectives or applications of industrial and organizational (I-O) psychology.

Although evidence of teaching excellence is likely to come from the total of all courses that one teaches, evidence of excellence in teaching I-O psychology courses or related areas is expected.
Nominations of individuals whose primary responsibilities lie in teaching undergraduates and terminal master’s students are encouraged.

Nominees who are nonrecipients of the Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award, Distinguished Professional Contributions Award, and Distinguished Service Contributions Award will be reconsidered annually for two years after their initial nomination.

How to Apply

Nominations should include:

  • A current vita of the nominee should accompany the letter of nomination.

  • A short biography.

  • Supporting letters may be included as part of the nomination packet. The number of supporting letters (not counting the nominating letter) for any given nomination should be between a minimum of three and a maximum of five.

  • A maximum of 10 additional supporting documents, addressing the criteria to be considered for this award

Submit forms electronically.

Past Recipients

Kenneth G. Brown


Ann Marie Ryan, PhD


Elizabeth L. Shoenfelt, PhD 


Daniel Sachau


John F. Binning


Michelle (Mikki) Hebl


Charles L. Hulin


Rosanne J. Foti


Marcus W. Dickson


Paul Muchinsky