APAGS Teaching Excellence in Psychological Science Award

This award is intended to promote the teaching of psychological science in undergraduate education by graduate students.

Deadline: December 2, 2015

Sponsor: APAGS


The purpose of these two $500 awards is to recognize graduate students who use pedagogical strategies to promote science appreciation among undergraduate students. This includes the incorporation of research methodology in undergraduate teaching and the encouragement of critical and scientific thinking in examining psychological issues. This includes the integration of research methods into all topical areas and the demonstration that scientific observation is a process integral to all areas of psychology.


APAGS grants and awards are available to graduate student members of APAGS who are enrolled at least half-time as a student in good standing at a regionally accredited university. Students who join as a graduate student affiliate are members of APAGS; students who are members of APA as undergraduate student affiliates, associate member or other member status, must change their status to graduate student affiliate prior to applying for this grant/award.

Undergraduates are not eligible to apply for these grants/awards, nor are current or former APAGS Committee members, subcommittee chairs and task force chairs. In addition, former APAGS subcommittee members or ad hoc reviewers who have previously reviewed this award are not eligible. Previous recipients of each grant/award are not eligible to apply again for a period of five years.

How to Apply

Each application must include all of the following materials:

  1. A cover letter (not to exceed three pages single-spaced) that includes background information about the applicant, why the applicant believes he/she should be awarded the award and the applicant’s future educational and professional goals. This cover letter should also include a statement of teaching philosophy/pedagogical theory including the applicant’s core beliefs and values that guide their teaching, description of innovative teaching exercises and concrete examples of implementation in the classroom.
  2. An abbreviated curriculum vitae (not to exceed two pages, single spaced) highlighting teaching experience and accomplishments.
  3. Sample syllabi ( a maximum of two syllabi, not to exceed eight pages in total).
  4. Letter of recommendation (not to exceed two pages single-spaced) supporting your application that addresses your qualifications in the classroom.
  5. Semester student evaluations are welcome but not required (either semester evaluations and/or letters of endorsements from students – not to exceed two pages single-spaced).

Please submit each of these items as a separate PDF file. We will not accept Word documents. Letters of recommendation (if and only if stated as a requirement above) should also be in PDF form; however, we will accept both Word and PDF versions of the letter of recommendation only.


Please note the online system will close at 11:59 p.m. (ET) on the day of the deadline; all application materials must be submitted at that time. No mail submissions will be accepted. If you are not an APAGS member at the time of submission you may attach a copy of the receipt you get when you join APA/APAGS electronically as proof of your membership. Letters of recommendation may be submitted separately via email by the deadline. Submit your application online.

Please read this carefully: Approximately two months before an application is due, you will see this specific grant/award as a choice in the drop-down menu under “Grants” in the online submission form. Do not apply until the grant is listed in this menu as your application will not be accepted. Check back periodically if you are waiting for a chance to submit. The online system will close immediately on the due date and time. Late submissions will not be accepted. You will receive notification of your award decisions approximately two months after the due date.

Past Recipients

Kelly Ann Bennion: Boston College
Gabriella Hancock: University of Central Florida


Clarissa Richardson: University of Florida
Megan Alice Smith: Purdue University


Shana Southard-Dobbs: University of North Texas
Lawton Ken Swan: University of Florida


Robyn Kondrad: University of Virginia
Jonathan R. Weaver: University of South Florida