Carol Williams-Nickelson Award for Women’s Leadership and Scholarship in Women’s Issues

The APAGS Carol Williams-Nickelson Award for Women’s Leadership and Scholarship in Women’s Issues is designed to acknowledge women APAGS members who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in psychology by serving in one or more leadership roles locally, regionally and/or nationally while also advancing women’s issues through their writing/publications, research, advocacy or other scholarly activities.

Deadline: May 6, 2015

Sponsor: APAGS


Some of the women’s issues addressed might include personal and professional balance, barriers to women’s achievement, challenges to advancement in academia or other environments, inequities in pay, differential career opportunities, health disparities, dual-career family issues, combining family and child-rearing with a career, mentoring and other issues that are important to or impact women. This $1,000 cash scholarship, named in Williams-Nickelson's honor, is in appreciation for not only her work in mentoring women but also, her tireless work within APAGS.


All candidates must be women APAGS members, currently enrolled (and in good academic standing at a regionally accredited university) in a doctoral program in psychology. Students who join as a graduate student affiliate are members of APAGS; students who are members of APA as undergraduate student affiliates, associate member or other member status, must change their status to graduate student affiliate prior to applying for this grant/award.

Undergraduates are not eligible to apply for these grants/awards, nor are current or former APAGS Committee members, subcommittee members or task force chairs. In addition, former APAGS subcommittee members or ad hoc reviewers who have previously reviewed this award are not eligible. Previous recipients of each grant/award are not eligible to apply again for a period of five years.

How to Apply

Each application must include all of the following materials:

  1. An abbreviated curriculum vitae (not to exceed two pages single-spaced).
  2. Two letters of recommendation from faculty members, advisors and/or supervisors that are familiar with the applicant’s leadership as well as ways in which the applicant has advanced or addressed women’s issues through her writing/publications, research, advocacy or other scholarly activities (not to exceed two pages single spaced).
  3. A maximum 1,500-word essay written by the applicant that describes:
    1. Merit and qualifications for the award based on leadership positions(s) held.
    2. Unique leadership style and philosophy of women’s leadership.
    3. How her research, advocacy or other scholarly work in this area advances women and women’s issues.
    4. The candidate’s own future educational and professional goals.

Please note the online system will close at 11:59 p.m. (ET) on the day of the deadline; all application materials must be submitted at that time. No mail submissions will be accepted. If you are not an APAGS member at the time of submission you may attach a copy of the receipt you get when you join APA/APAGS electronically as proof of your membership. Letters of recommendation may be submitted separately via email by the deadline.

Submit your application online. All applicants will be notified of selection decisions in August.

Past Recipients

Jessica A. Joseph: The New School for Social Research


Alexandra Minieri: University of Kentucky


Michelle Vella: Lehigh University


Erin B. Cooper: Temple University


Kristine Chapleau: Marquette University


Crystal Edler: University of Iowa